Masters News


Download your copy of the Tournment Programme here


July 5th 2017

First let me thank all the players that made themselves available for the Trans-Tasman, we had over 120 people players available, it is great to see our sport growing. It is sad that at this Trans-Tasman Australia were unable to bring a Ladies side but we are pushing them hard for next year!

The board would like to make a special thank you to all the coaches and managers without your dedication our sport would not be what it is.

We would also like to thank the trainers that have been selected as no one envies your role trying to keep these Athletes (lose term for some of us) on the court.

All the Coaches had a very difficult job in all grades to finalise their teams, for those players that made the teams congratulations and wear the Fern with pride and do you country proud! For those that missed out, please stay in the sport and push hard for next year and the World Series in 2019 and thank you for all your effort.

I will be sending out a flyer to everyone so would be great to get this out to your clubs and if you are in the area be great to see you at the Mount!

The teams:

Team NZ over 35’s
  Player Club/Province
Captain 1 Darin Crook (C) North Harbour
V. Captain 2 Nathan Daley (VC) Rocket Hamilton
3 Leith Johnston Hutt Wellington
4 Craig Foster Hutt Wellington
5 Guy Coleman North Harbour
6 Jason Hill North Harbour
7 Nigel Collins Rocket Hamilton
8 Sunnie Chan WIS Wellington
9 Riki Cowley Rocket Hamilton
10 Paul Bascand Hutt Wellington
11 Scott Davies North Harbour
12 Carl Bennett Rocket Hamilton
Coach Paul Anderson Rocket Hamilton
Manager Candra Joyce Rocket Hamilton
Trainer Katherine Spence Waitakerie Auckland


Team NZ over 40’s
  Player Club/Province
Captain 1 Derek Mann Rocket Hamilton
V.Captain 2 Jayson Davis Hutt Central Districts
3 Mike Ranson Rocket Hamilton
4 Joshua Davison Saints Auckland
5 Robin James Hornby Canterbury
6 Steve Binnie Nelson
7 Glenn Reynolds Taranaki
8 Grant Thorpe North Harbour
9 Warren Smith Saints Auckland
10 Glenn Dawson Howzat Canterbury
11 Nick Shoston Rocket Hamilton
12 Dean O’Brien The Mount Tauranga
Coach Mark Cini Canterbury
Manager Phil Harris Canterbury
Trainer Jeffery Yee Canterbury


Team NZ over 45’s
  Player Club/Province
Captain 1 Tony Watkins Hamilton Rocket
V.Captain 2 Robbie Hyndman Saints Auckland
3 Damien Gillen Pakaranga Auckland
4 Brendan Byrne Hamilton Rocket
5 Chris Cliff Hamilton Rocket
6 Karl Dalton Hamilton Rocket
7 Steve Hart Hutt Wellington
8 Krystain Prince WIS Wellington
9 Colin Owens WIS Wellington
10 David Scott WIS Wellington
11 Michael Stocker Hornby Canterbury
Coach David Russell Canterbury
Ass. Coach Bryan Price Canterbury
Manager Christine Milne Canterbury
Trainer Nicola Cooke Auckland


Team NZ over 50’s
  Player Club/Province
Captain 1 David Eriksen Howzat Christchurch
V.Captain 2 Kevin Bartels Rocket Hamilton
3 Brent Woods Waitakere Auckland
4 Mark Bunny Waitakere Auckland
5 Shayne Darlington Waitakere Auckland
6 David Fulton Wellington Indoor
7 Peter O’Shaughnessey Waitakere Auckland
8 Darren Bidois The Mount Tauranga
9 David Henderson Hornby Christchurch
10 Brendan Smith Waitakere Auckland
11 Mike Jamieson Waitakere Auckland
Coach Brent Woods Waitakere Auckland
Assistant Coach Chris Fitzgerald Nelson
Manager Sandy Astridge Waitakere Auckland
Trainer Mellinda Fitzgerald Nelson

Final NZ Team World Cup 2017 (Excel Download)

Best of luck to all the players and teams

Tony Watkins

Cricketers return home with silver

PDF: Cricketers return home with silver

Well, the dust has barely settled from our recent trip to the Australian State Masters, where the Northern 40’s put on a fantastic performance once again.

Whilst we didn’t get the top prize, there was some fantastic cricket played (the semi-final vs NZW was worth the price of admission alone).

An announcement at the prize giving was the location of the next Indoor Cricket Master World Series.

This is to be held in Birmingham England in late September – early October 2016.

We are now seeking expression of interest from those players who would like to be considered for selection for teams (players over 30 for the Ladies and over 35 for the Men’s as of mid-September 2016)

If you are interested, can you please complete Masters Availability Form 2016 and get this back to one of the board members as soon as possible (but they must be back by the 26th June).


Once we have an idea of numbers, we will be organising trials and then selecting training squads of 16.

These squads should be named by the end of September this year (giving us another 12 months to get sharp)

There is also a fairly substantial budget associated with this tournament, so the time will also need to be used for fundraising / sponsorship etc (the NZ Masters board will keep you updated on this as things develop).

So, If you are interested in representing New Zealand, the things I need you to do are…

  • Read and then complete the attached form
  • Get it back to the board member via email
  • Discuss it with your team-mates (if they haven’t got this form, then they are not on my list – give them a copy and get them to get in touch with us)
  • Coaches and Managers will be confirmed shortly

This is just the first step in a fairly long build up, but it is good to get started early and keep building on the great performances of those that have gone before.

If anyone has any questions / queries / concerns, please do not hesitate to contact one of the board members.

Indoor Cricket New Zealand Masters November 2014 Newsletter
Coach Applications Australian State Champs 2015
Managers Applications Australian State Masters 2015

ICNZ Masters:

Since forming a board for Masters the team has been hard at work, this year we have two teams going to the Australian State Championships being held in Brisbane Australia from the 24th May 2014 through to 31stMay 2014

The squads for the championships are as follows:

Northern over 40’s Central over 40″s
Tony Watkins © Jayson Davies ©
Robert Hyndman (vc) Jason Smith (vc)
Michael Ranson Edward Isaacs
Karl Dalton Simon Kent
Shaun Boyd Mark Neale
Warren Smith Andrew Scott
David Caldwell Kristian Prince
Gregory Simpson Graeme Rule
Shirwan Potter Craig Dodds
Brendon Smith Kevin Krebbs
Zachary Pratt Boyd Jenson
Mathew Hunt Chris Priest (manager)
Paul Knight (coach)


Both teams have been training hard and are very hopeful of a good result at the championships.

2014 Masters Championship Results
2014 Masters Championship Fixture
Masters Sponsors


Final training camp at Hutt Park for Central Over 40’s